Aarhus University

Aarhus University (AU) is the second largest University in Denmark and one of th leading universities in environmental research. It encompasses 26 academic departments and educates
44,500 students and about 450 PhD students annually with 11,550 permanent staff. AU has a long tradition of partnerships with some of the world's best research institutions and university networks. AU has been and continues to participate in 295 FP7 and 190 H2020 and Marie Curie projects and has secured 39 ERC-grants. AU coordinates 21 FP7 and 20 H2020 projects.  

Our role in the project

AU leads Task 2.1 to undertake diagnostics of costs and benefit categories for NBS and leads WP3 on stocktaking the existing evidence and knowledge on NBS economics and financing mechanisms. Furthermore, AU contributes to the co-development of innovative approaches for financing, business and governance models for different NBS typologies and the production of the Decision Support (DS) toolbox and supportive digital services for NBS. 

The AU’s Department of Environmental Science (AU-ENVS) participating in Invest4Nature is an interdisciplinary department with expertise ranging from physics, chemistry, microbiology and mathematical modeling to emission modeling, social science, geography, economics and policy analysis. The department conducts basic and applied research in climate change impacts, adaptation and mitigation in urban and rural areas and the role of biodiversity and ecosystem services for human well-being, among others. AU-ENVS heads the AU Interdisciplinary Centre for Climate Change, iClimate, with urban systems as one of the strategic focus areas.  

Marianne Zandersen

Department of Environmental Science – Environmental social science and geography